Nature’s Place in the Race: Collective Action for Forest-Positive Commodity Supply Chains

Friday, 13 November, 9:15-10:15am EST / 1:15-2:15pm GMT / 8:15-9:15pm WIB

 

 

Session Description

In 2020 – the critical year for forests – this session brought together leading private sector and civil society voices to mobilize forest-positive action in the Race to Zero, take stock of progress made in reducing commodity-driven deforestation, and demonstrate how the forests and commodities community is moving from incremental individual action to transformational collective action.

The meeting was part of the Race to Zero Dialogues’ Nature-Based Solutions and Land Use Day. The Race to Zero is a global campaign to rally leadership and support from non-state actors to achieve net zero emissions by 2050.

 

Speakers
  • Christine McGrath, Vice President and Chief of Global Impact, Sustainability, and Well-being, Mondelēz International
  • Cristianne Close, Global Practice Leader Markets, WWF
  • Crystal Davis, Director Global Forest Watch, World Resources Institute
  • Gita Syahrani, Head of Secretariat, Lingkar Temu Kabupaten Lestari (LTKL)
  • Nigel Topping, High Level Climate Action Champion for COP26, UK Government
  • Nurdiana Darus, Head of Corporate Affairs and Sustainability, Unilever 
  • Perpetua George, General Manager Group Sustainability, Wilmar International
  • Toby Gardner, Senior Research Fellow and Director Trase, Stockholm Environment Institute
  • Moderator: Justin Adams, Executive Director, Tropical Forest Alliance; Co-Director, World Economic Forum Platform for Nature-Based Solutions

Follow Us

The Tropical Forest Alliance is a global public-private partnership in which partners take voluntary
actions, individually and in combination, to reduce tropical deforestation. Follow us below.